CNC process, video?

u6crash

• Members

Has anyone seen in person or by video the process of a CNC machine cutting a body blank into a body? I thought maybe I'd see it in a factory tour online, but have found no such thing.

How much training goes into learning to use a CNC router? There is a class taught on it at the local community college, but I believe it focuses on metal working.

• Members

I took CNC programming and machine set up, etc when I did my three year college degree (industrial woodworking).

The machines and controllers are pretty much the same whether you are working metal or wood (the biggest difference is the fixtures for holding the work and the lack of coolant for wood). The feedspeeds and cutter speeds are different but the basic programming procedures are identical.

After you get over the inital "cool factor: of watching the machine work, its gets pretty mundane. I decided to go the route of hands on, custom fine furniture builder VS the route of factory automation. A lot more interesting IMO. :)

But its still neat to watch!

AJC

• Members

Originally posted by ajcoholic

I took CNC programming and machine set up, etc when I did my three year college degree (industrial woodworking).

The machines and controllers are pretty much the same whether you are working metal or wood (the biggest difference is the fixtures for holding the work and the lack of coolant for wood). The feedspeeds and cutter speeds are different but the basic programming procedures are identical.

After you get over the inital "cool factor: of watching the machine work, its gets pretty mundane. I decided to go the route of hands on, custom fine furniture builder VS the route of factory automation. A lot more interesting IMO.
:)

But its still neat to watch!

AJC