Thinking of Starting an Indie Label

Bare Bones

• Members

I've been contemplating starting a small indie label, mainly releasing limited-release 7" singles and otherwise focusing on digital distribution. I would look to sign indie rock-type bands.

Although I have a business degree and have been successful in the marketing field for over a decade, this would definitely be dipping my toes into new waters. I've been reading a ton about the business, have studied the marketing and business approaches of small labels, and may take some online courses at Berklee to further educate myself.

I have a successful career, so while I would be committing a lot of time and be behind it 100%, I'm not looking to get rich from the endeavor (not that it happens much on the label side anymore). I want to be very fair to the artists, and would view the label as a stepping stone for them (not signing long-term deals, etc.).

I'm wondering if anyone on here has experience w/small, indie labels, either on the business or artist side? Words of advice, stories, and if an artist, your experience and what you look for in a small label. If all goes well, I hope to take the first steps in the spring.

• 1 month later...
  • Members

My very strong recommendation is to find a way to take a couple indie labels owners out to lunch and get their take on what its like to own a label, how they have seen it change over the last several years, and where they see it going.

I am not trying to talk you out of it, but the financial and lifestyle realities of actually making a label work are usually quite different than most people would expect.

• Members

I have a successful career, so while I would be committing a lot of time and be behind it 100%,

This part is something to think about - It's easy to say "behind it 100%" but if you have another career...can you really do that? I mean 100% is "totally"