Stoner/Desert Rock

Johnstinkpants

• Members

I play it. I'm using either my SG or Ibanez thinline (it's a hollowbody but it has a great rock sound) into my VHT Fifty/ST with no effects. You can play stoner with pretty much any kind of gear. Look at the bands you like and see what they used. I think Kyuss had an Ampeg v4 and used an Ovation UK2.

• Members

I have a side project/fun jam band kinda thing playing that stuff... from Kyuss to Crowbar and CoC type slow sabbathed out jams.

We do the odd gig once in a blue moon, and I use my Gibson SG gothic through a RAT pedal into a seventies Sound City 100 watt head and 4x12, and it slays!

Sound city amps are dirt cheap...best kept secret in amps IMO...all tube and handwired...I have seen 'em go for $300 on ebay...scruffy but they are bombproof.

• Members

Being a student I suffer from cheap gear syndrome

I hear a lot of the hugeness of stoner rock bands' guitar tones comes from cranked up amps. I own a valveking 212 and its really just too loud. I get told to turn it down when it's on 2 and a half (out of ten) and it sounds so much better when turned up

A guy on another forum suggested cranking it up then using and eq pedal to turn down the volume...would this work? I thought that's what attenuators were for?

[/noob]

• Members

Don't say that around curseoftruth! He'll call you a "{censored}ing moron" and then cut your {censored}ing head off.

If he can find me :p I've gotten some good stoner tones with a Strat through a Traynor amp before so I know it can be done. But then again I like the more rock side of stoner rock ... bands like Kyuss, Dozer, Fu Manchu, Atomic Bitchwax, Brant Bjork ... I'm not too sure about drone or sludge stuff.

• Members