Tokai Les Paul misrepresented on Ebay?

Hoddy

• Members

I'm not an expert on Tokai Les Pauls but this is being sold as a 1984, and I believe back then all of them were made in Japan...this looks like a more recent one due to the point at the top center of the headstock...I believe that indicates it was made in Korea...am I wrong?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Tokai-Love-Rock-1984-Les-Paul-Style-Original-Case_W0QQitemZ300168506281QQihZ020QQcategoryZ2384QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

• Members

The serial number on the back of the headstock is correct for that year. I have an 83 and the headstock does not have that extra point so I don't know if they did that with the 84. He made it really hard to see the truss rod cover, but it seems to have two screws instead of three like the korean ones. Of course he could of easily replaced the cover and some how changed the serial number.

• Members

1984 was a turning point for Tokai. IIRC in 84 a lot of specifications changed, including the introduction of poly finishes over laquer.

Its possible that maybe this was something done for the american market in an attempt to circumvent the C+D orders against the "lawsuit" companies...

The case also looks correct for the era, Im still not sure on this one though...

• Members

Ya, the headstock does not look like any 80's Tok's I have seen. They do use that stlye headstock on the Korean models but I have no idea if they did at any point in tme on the MIJ ones.

They used that headstock on the Korean models and the Japanese models they export out of Japan to Europe for sale. You may want to check at the Tokai registry website for more info.

• Moderators

They used that headstock on the Korean models and the Japanese models they export out of Japan to Europe for sale. You may want to check at the Tokai registry website for more info.