Advice on Strings

albiedamned

• Members

I'm a novice player who started playing last fall. I have two guitars right now, an Epi Dot and a PRS SE Singlecut. I don't know much about strings, and I am bewildered by the multitude of options out there. I had a setup done on my Dot and I had 11's put on there. I believe the guy used D'Addario, but I don't know which variety. The PRS is a year old (I bought it used) and it still has the original strings. Someone told me it has 9's. It does definitely feel thinner than the Dot.

I like the thicker strings on the Dot because I've been using it for a fuller, rounder tone. But beyond that I really don't know what sort of strings I should be looking for. I've been using the PRS as an all-purpose guitar - clean rhythm, clean leads, overdriven/distorted leads.

Can anyone give me some general tips on the differences between the brands and the varieties within each brand, and maybe some suggestions on what I should consider? Thanks!

• Members

I think coated strings are the way to go. Better value. Saves time because you need to deal with fewer string changes. My personal choice is Elixir Nanoweb but the others are perfectly fine as well.

• Members

Everyone has their own different taste when it comes to strings. I have been usuing daddario strings for the last 10 years and I am happy with them. Occaisionally if I need a set and the store does not have them I will try something else but I keep going back to them. If you like 11's then it would be Daddario XL 11-49, personally I bend alot and prefer to use the daddario XL 10-46.

• Members

Same here in regard to the D'Addario string.. I always go back... but strings like everythign else, is somethign you just have to find out for yourself. Try a set each time you change 'em and see which you like. Some have inherent characteristics (such as how they are wrapped around the ball) that may not gel with your playing style.

• Members