Input needed in Strat Mod: HSS or HH?

OptimusV6

• Members

Hi,

This is one of my first posts in this forum. Have been playing classical guitar since 1998, so bare with me as I am pretty new to electric guitars. I am modding a very cheap Strat copy (it says Kimaxe in the headstock, any info on the guitar? Plywood body? got it 10 years ago and have played it like 4 times) and I am not sure if I want to make it an HSS or an HH. I am thinking about buying a prewired pickguards from guitarfethish:

http://store.guitarfetish.com/duhuwhonwhpr.html

http://store.guitarfetish.com/prewihupiblo.html

Now the question is... I just bought a MIM Tele ($299 on musicians'), so I dont want to have a Strat that sounds similar to the Tele. Would you just get two humbuckers to have a more "in your face guitar" (I've never heard a HH Strat), or get the HSS two be able to retain the clean tone of a strat-like guitar (anyway I can always use my Boss OD pedal to make the sound heavier)?

Thanks!

P.D. I know is a cheap guitar, that's why I don't want to spend a lot in mods, this is more like an experiment, before modding the Tele (MIA pick ups, 4 switch mod).

• Members

I have one of those 39 buck HH GFS pickguards in a strat copy. I also added a phase switch. I like it a lot! Kinda like an SG with tons of attitude, but it aint an SG. I speak from experience. It don't sound nothin' like my tele. The two "boys" give me all the tonal range I'll ever need. So WTF am I thinking about another guitar build? It's a disease.

• Members

So what's the difference between an HSS and a HH strat soundwise?

Well, basically the difference between Slash's lead/solo tone and Gilmour's tone on the first solo Comfortably Numb or his lead intro work on Shine On You Crazy Diamond.

Not saying these kits will get you there, but that's the difference in a nutshell. In addition to the obvious fact that the H/S/S will give you literally more options including the neck+middle single combo that many folks love.