Calling all Bigsby experts. Please help!

CicadaSilence

• Members

I've been wrestling with my Bigsby B5 for going on two months now. I've installed it on an Epiphone Firebird, and I've been having a tuning problem.

Whenever I use the bar, it refuses to return to a neutral position. I'll tune the guitar up to pitch, and it's just fine. But when I push the bar down and release it, it stays about an eighth of a step flat, and vice versa when I pull the bar up. It just won't... quite... return to neutral. I've played other Bigsby equipped guitars before, and I've never had this problem.

I've had a graphite nut professionally cut and installed, I'm using a roller bridge, installed a brand new spring, and I've lubed up every string and bridge contact point. Still having the same problem.

Am I missing something? Any ideas? Help!

• Members

I'm no expert, but maybe a heavier spring would help ? Are you using heavy gauge strings ? Sounds like you've attacked most of the items I can think of beyond that. I think some folks sometimes opt to run springs "over" the tension bar behind the bridge. You loose sustain that way, but I've heard it helps tuning. Also, you might try a lubed teflon washer in the spring seat cavities on on both ends, in case there's some minor issue going on there. Good luck, and let us know what the fix is if you find one!!

• Members

I upgraded to a 1" spring, over the stock 7/8". I don't know if it added any tension, but it made the bar sit a bit higher, which is fine by me. I'm using .11 - .14 - .20 - .30 - .42 - .54 strings tuned to standard, so that should be plenty heavy enough.

That's a good idea about the additional teflon washer. I'll have to try that out. (Anyone have a spare laying around? :D) From what I can tell, it seems to be a spring/spring cup issue. Everything else is doing what it's supposed to. The spring is the only place where there could be any "slop", as far as I can tell.