Setting up feedback eliminator with powered mixer and monitors.

• Members

Alrighty.. I'm building this PA system more every week, so I'm still learning to set this stuff up as I go along. I need to understand where the feedback destroyer rack unit I am getting will fit into my setup.

Just as a quick background, this small PA will be used for our band's jam room. The wedges will be used mainly for vocals during band rehersals.

Relevant equipment:

- 2x Wharfdale 12" passive monitor wedges

- 1x Behringer PMX2000 powered mixer

- 1x 2 channel feedback destroyer (racked)

This is how I planned to do it, with what I know...

There are 2 powered outputs to the mixer, each 250W. I am going to put 1 monitor on each output. If we ever use this system in the future for a small-venue gig situation, I can chain the monitors and use 1 output (with the other output for the mains).

The mic (let's assume 1 person only will sing) will go into channel 1 on the mixer, let's say. The monitor out plug on the front of the mixer will go to the input of 1 channel on the feedback destroyer. The output for that channel on the feedback destroyer will go into the powered amp plug on the front of the mixer.

Pardon my ignorance if the powered amp inputs on the front of the mixer are for something else.

So.. if I'm correct, all mics/instruments going into the mixer will be output to the passive monitor out plug, which goes into the feedback destroyer, then back out into the monitor, then out the rear powered jacks into the monitors.

K. I'm ready for the reality check now :)

• Members

You've got the setup right - although a 31 band eq would be better than a FBX, take it from me, who learned the hard way:).

Although check the back of your PMX2000 - mine's not here right now, but above each output jack there will be LeftMain or RightMonitor. Make sure the L or R input channel corresponds with the monitor channel.

• Members