OT: Home Theatre

• Members

Anybody using any cool setups?

Right now my TV is a 32" Philips that has great picture, but just too small for my living room. I've also got a sony stereo receiver and a pair of speakers from a Sharp boombox that I've been using for the past 10 years or so... been meaning to upgrade but never have. Thinking I upgrade to some proper bookshelf speakers and maybe building a couple subwoofers. Dunno how I'm gonna power 'em though.

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • CMS Author
Quote Originally Posted by IsildursBane View Post
I'd get some entry/mid-level studio monitors before getting any passive speakers they sell at the hi-fi shops.

-Dan.
Many years ago I bought a pair of Yamaha bookshelfs for about $300 pair, and they turned out to be really flat, natural-sounding, and even used as studio monitors by some folks. There are good "hi-fi" speakers at reasonable prices, just have to sort through the offerings with a good ear.

• Members

Mission speaker setup an a Technics tuner with MOSFET bought ohhhhhh 2000 ish.

Projector TV bought 2005, 122" from corner to corner. my buddy is standing beside it. I bought a screen, but it looks so good on the wall that I never bothered putting the screen up.

5BAC6681-6BEE-4C6E-9B90-707A160C9ADF-132

• Members
Quote Originally Posted by Mogwix View Post
Anybody using any cool setups?

Right now my TV is a 32" Philips that has great picture, but just too small for my living room.
What distance are you watching from? In my family room, we're watching from 9 ft. or less, and of those short distances, a 40" seems just about perfect. If I were watching movies only, maybe I'd go a size bigger (46"), but for regular TV shows, especially talking-head news broadcasts/ or talk shows, I find the really big screens difficult/uncomfortable to watch.