Anyone use MicroKorg? good for Digital Hardcore/electro punk? noob here

• Members

am wanting to talk to people that know something about that MicroKorg that runs about 399.99USD

i have been looking at all my options and this MicroKorg looks great. however all i ever hear people really make with it is, dance, techno, trance....ect ect...

what am wanting todo is a solo project. and well i dont know much about synths i have been playing around with VTS well i dont like it ...am a touchy guy i like to get my hands dirty,

well i do compose on the pc (drums/effects) its missing that distort...its missing that power and this synth looks like it might do that for me however i want to hear from people that have exp with it.

you know Atari Teenage Riot? or any other Digital hardcore bands? am looking for that raw powerful sound. i think ill keep drums from the pc...well anyway

if someone can chat with me about this sometime on msn, yahoo or aol it would be a great help.

thank you for reading, i hope it wasent too painful....

• Members

If you want to do any music that's not the most in thing, it's important to disregard what everyone else uses an instrument for. Any synth can do more than what "everyone" uses it for. The MK is probably capable of doing what you want, but you can't do many kinds of sounds at the same time with it, and having outboard effects to wreck its output is probably key to the kind of sounds you're after. Experimentation and breaking rules is more important in those genres, which only a few exotic boutiques cater to when designing instruments.

I suggest looking for a used MK and a used drum machine like a Korg EA-1, as well as picking up a distortion pedal or two. You can do a ton with a small setup like that.

• Members

Based only on what you've said, a $399 Microkorg is probably the worst choice for you.