Aspiring Audio Engineer/Producer needs *sound* advice

antiochband

• Members

Hello all, and sorry about the bad pun!

My name's Chris, I'm 18 and I'm a guitarist/bassist/vocalist here in Norcal. I am currently in my last semester at Solano community college, getting my associate's in Liberal Arts. I want to break into Audio Engineering/SOund Production. I've had this discussion severaln times with my parents, but I thought I'd pose the question to the real studio guys: should I continue my formal education and find a good AE program, or go out into the real world and begin working for a studio? (even doing menial work)

I am thinking about moving to the Sacramento area, and I have researched about two dozen separate music studios in the area.

Any helpful advice would be appreciated!

Chris L

• Members

should I continue my formal education and find a good AE program, or go out into the real world and begin working for a studio? (even doing menial work)

Ideally, BOTH!!!

~~~~~~~~~

There's nothing like real-life experience, obviously, but there are so many aspects to recording engineering that I do feel that an education is quite beneficial. Also, you can make a lot of networking contacts at a school, which is invaluable.

So I would say learn as much as you can both ways, be humble but confident (in other words, learn a lot but don't be an arrogant know-it-all prick just because someone is doing something different from what you think is right or what you learned in school), be a sponge and learn everything, learn how to get along really well with people (I probably don't need to tell you why this is so important! :D ), and stay committed and focused to what you want to do.

And one last plea from me: pop music can be so much than it usually is. Please don't become a cookie-cutter engineer. Whenever you can, create pop music that is catchy, emotionally potent, and intelligent. And being insanely groovy never hurt anyone... :D

• Members