Installing a P90 into my Thinline

TheBumRush

• Members

So I have a 72 Thinline Tele that I just got and I'm wanting to install a P90 in between the humbuckers on it. Can anyone tell me how to do this? What kind of switch would I need to use to switch between the three pickups? I have basic soldering skills, but I'm not good with knowing how to wire things that I'm unfamiliar with.

Any input would be wonderful, thanks guys.

DSCN0115.jpg

That's what it looks likes.

• Members

Honestly, I'm not sure. But have you thought about putting a Duncan P-Rails in the neck position? You'd only need a replacement pickguard--I think.

Anyway, you'd have several new sounds at your disposal including P90 and a blade single coil. When you combine the two you get the humbucking tone.

You could put a 5-way switch or even one of those super strat switches that give you ten or more settings.

The other thing to consider is that the Wide Range humbuckers are splittable. You could simply install a new 5 way switch and wire it up Seymour Duncan style. I would do this first before mangling my Thinline to make room for the P90. This is how I would wire the pickups:

* Position 1: Bridge pickup

* Position 2: Outside coils- parallel (deep, clear sounding tone)

* Position 3: Series single coils- inside coils of each pickup wired in series for faux single coil sound

* Position 4: Parallel single coils

• Members

So I have a 72 Thinline Tele that I just got and I'm wanting to install a P90 in between the humbuckers on it. Can anyone tell me how to do this? What kind of switch would I need to use to switch between the three pickups? I have basic soldering skills, but I'm not good with knowing how to wire things that I'm unfamiliar with.

Any input would be wonderful, thanks guys.

DSCN0115.jpg

That's what it looks likes.

Some hints:

http://www.onlineseats.com/upload/concerts/236_con_lang1.gif

• Members