Effects Question

naz420

• Members

Im kind of new to electric guitar. Ive had a pretty sweet set up( see sig. ) for a long time but dont play much electric. Ive been playing for 7-8 years but i always play acoustic. Every time i plugged in i never got the tones or effects i liked maybe because i had a boss GT-6 which i could never figure out. I simplified, got some pedals and now im loving it. Now i have a few questions.

my set up goes guitar into pedals, into amp. Should I have my guitar going straight to the amp and effcts going to the effect loop( marshall jcm dsl 2000 100w half stack )or some effects through the loop and some between the guitar and amp?

How do i get harmonics to sound like this?

• Members

You'd normally run distortion, overdrive, fuzz...stuff like that between the guitar and the amp.

Delays, reverbs, and modulation effects normally go in the loop.

That said, if you're using pedals for distortion, then running your delays/reverbs/modulation effects after the distortion pedal should sound pretty much the same as running them in the loop. You generally just don't want delays and reverbs BEFORE your distortion.

• Members

If you want to do the FX loop thing, it ought to be for stuff like reverb, and,....nah!

To tell you the truth, I like my stuff between the guitar and the amp(s). Chorus's and echo delay units come in stereo models so being between guitar and amp(s) is a must.

Distortion/overdrive, wah pedals and compressors should be there too.

My set up is guitar>tuner>wah>overdrive>Boss Deluxe Reverb>Chorus Factory>DigiDelay>amp(s)

• Members