ZR Tremolo problems PLEASE HELP!

Bob Vila

• Members

gentlemen, i am confused.

i recently aquired an ibanez prestige S2170SE.

When i received the guitar i wanted to change strings from what looked like standard .10's to .10-.52.

while i was setting up the guitar, if i pitch down, it returns sharp. if i pitch sharp, it returns flat. I cant figure it out for the life of me how to make it return to proper pitch.

this is my first time with a trem so please excuse my noobness.

i would greatly appreciate it if anyone has any advice they could share.

thanks! :thu:

• Members

going up in gauge to .52 you just increased your guitar string tension

Use the spring wheel on the back of the guitar (trem cavity wheel) to increase trem spring tension (start with half a turn of the wheel or 3/4) , that way the bridge will return back parallel with the body of the guitar, then tune your guitar again, if the bridge tilts forward again (it will) add some more spring tension, then tune your guitar again and repeat process until the guitar is in tune and the ZR bridge stays parallel to the body

The ibanez ZR is a damn good tremolo system, it should keep solid tuning no problem

• Members

going up in gauge to .52 you just increased your guitar string tension

Use the spring wheel on the back of the guitar (trem cavity wheel) to increase trem spring tension (start with half a turn of the wheel or 3/4) , that way the bridge will return back parallel with the body of the guitar, then tune your guitar again, if the bridge tilts forward again (it will) add some more spring tension, then tune your guitar again and repeat process until the guitar is in tune and the ZR bridge stays parallel to the body

The ibanez ZR is a damn good tremolo system, it should keep solid tuning no problem