fast double bass without toe-heel method?

hardrockaren

• Members

I'm new to the double-bass pedal. But I learned it pretty quickly. I don't use the heel-to-toe method (don't even know what it is, can someone drop a line on that?), but I keep both my heels up at all times, so I can get more leverage from the rest of my leg. I don't think I can play that Death metal stuff yet, but I can keep up with Carter Beauford (DMB) and Dennis Chambers occasionally.

• Members

I think you have it mixed up.

The heel-toe method refers (generally) to doing doubles on a single pedal. The idea being doing one hit with the heel of the foot and then catching the second hit with the toe in rapid succession. Of course, you could do heel-toe on two pedals but that would make a double-stroke roll ( RRLL, RRLL etc. )

Generally speaking, the double-bass guys play heel-up (for more power) than heel down. Heel-up or heel-down is the way you put your foot on the pedal and the heel-toe technique is one technique to do doubles on the bass drum. Understand the difference?

The "secret" to playing fast double bass is to start slow and work your way up...it takes time...the double bass giants had to do it this way, so do you. Nobody sits behind a kit and just plays like lighting without time spend developing these things. Start slow and make sure all the notes are even and consistant...use a metronome. Make sure your springs on your bass drum pedal are relatively tight. That way, the beater comes off the drum quicker. Try to use the most efficient stroke...use the ball of your foot to "press" the pedal into the drum; don't lift your foot off of the pedal at all. Find the sweet spot on your pedal and put the ball of your foot on it. Make sure your foot is paralell to the ground; adjust your seat accordingly. Don't sit to low; have your kness at least paralell to the ground. Sit up straight.

Then start beating those motherf'ers...(evenly don't forget!)

Good luck

• Members