File sharing of your music.

dmguitar0

• Members

I am a college student studying information technology. All the time we hear what the music industry has to say about losing money on sales, or what consumers have to say about getting free music.

Therefore, I am writing a research paper about how musicians (the ones who matter) feel about file-sharing of their original works.

While this isn't a new idea, I am conducting a survey to provide me with data for my paper. The survey is a single question and is aimed towards those who either have had, or might have their music downloaded for free.

As such:

If you aren't a musician who writes your own songs, please dont take the survey.

However, do feel free to post comments on this topic. I also encourage those who take the survey to do so as well.

Thanks to you all.

-A fellow songwriter and musician

• Replies 107
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

I wonder sometimes what the other musicians think though. While many of us are embracing it, I wonder how many of us actually agree with either opinion that the record execs and file-sharers hold.

It is one of the only way to be known without $$$$$$$$$ or cocksucking industry assholes.

Oh I definitely think that's an accurate statement. Its an easy, and inexpensive!! way to get your music out there.

Its here to stay and I embrace it.

Here to stay? Im not so sure. I think a better system could come along and make a way for musicians to get paid their royalties, wiithout dealing with the industry so much. The industry a-holes you mention do provide a service, despite all the crap they do; services such as marketing, better recordings, packed worthwhile touring schedules, and the like.

• Members