Getting started...electronic kit?

Dark Ice

• Members

Hi. I'm new to this forum, although I do lurk from time to time. Right now I'm a guitarist but I've always wanted to get into drums, and this year I've been giving it a lot more thought, although my finances right now aren't too great (student).

Given that I cant see myself investing in anything better than a Pearl Export or a Premier Artist for example in the next few years, and given that I'd probably have to dampen them for practice anyway, I was considering electronic drums. They'd also work out a lot better considering the space I have available.

I am concerned though that learning solely on an electronic kit might get me into bad habits, or screw up my coordination, or give me a misleading sense of feel for dynamics or...something along those lines.

So I'd be most obliged if you offered your thoughts on learning drums on an electronic kit. Are there any potential pitfalls that you can forsee doing this? Is it just a bad idea? Am I worrying about nothing? All advice is welcome.

Steve.

• Members