What kind of filling/stuffing for bass drum?

Grayson73

• Members

I have a Pearl drum kit and the bass drum has a 'thap' sound instead of a 'thud' sound.

What should I put in there to make the sound deeper? Would any pillow or blanket do?

Also, is it as simple as opening it up, putting something in, and closing it?

As you can tell, I'm a newbie :)

• Members

I use pre-muffled heads (Super Kick II and Regulator) and fill my kick with air to get a good sound. What sounds thuddy to you behind the kit probably sounds like crap to the audience (or just gets drowned out by the guitars and bass). But a light weight blanket or pillow lightly touching both heads shouldn't sound too bad.

• Members

I wouldnt recomend making a hole yourself. I did that once and while i was playing my set the whole front bass head ended up tearing. Just purchase one that has a pre-made hole. But if your not miciing it, I wouldnt worry about it.

• Members

If you're going to stuff your drum with something, I think it helps to have a hole in the res head so you can arrange said stuffing appropiately to suit your sonic desires. Otherwise, you stuff the drum, seal it up and then as soon as you move it, your stuffing has moved and is touching the head differently thereby affecting the overall sound of the drum.

Some points:

-Stuffing may or may not help you get the sound you want. Start by messing with the tuning. As mentioned, you could shove some stuffing in there and seal it up and then decide it's too much, or too little, stuffing. So you have to open it up, reassess the stuffing situation, replace/remove/add stuffing, reseal, retune....you can see how quickly this would get old and tiresome.

-As mentioned, drum head companies make pre-muffled heads. When used in combination with proper tuning, the desired result can be achieved with no need for additional stuffing, thus saving you a blanket for the cold winter months that lie ahead.