Am I just naïve?: Question about my band goals.

• Members

I have been a musician for 10+ years and been in casual bands off and on for about 7. Recently my drummer and I have decided to relocate to a big city and take an actual stab at a serious career in Rock and Roll.

Neither of us know much about the reality of the music industry, either independent or major, so my question lies in our goals: We don’t want much with money, only enough to play music and put a bit of savings away (I would suspect around 35k yearly), we want creative control over our product and freedom to do risky things (like enlist visual artists as actual members), we want to be able to tour and play to well marketed, small venues of the USA.

Is this possible or am I just being naive?? Do I want the best of both worlds? Can anyone offer any input on where you think we should take this project? Any advice would be appreciated!

Blake.

• Members

Play some shows and get a local (meaning around your home state) following. Record a good CD, buy a van, and go on tour. Try to play a couple hundred shows a year all over the nation. Do this for a few years and see what happens. Keep making contacts and always talk to your fans. Make your fans feel like your their friend (they will keep coming back.) Be prepared to have a rough first tours (not making much cash.) Hopefully it'll pay off in the end. Good Luck!

• Members