1st time recording my drums

ddrumbum

• Members

Well I got all my mics set-up, I am using a CAD kick mic, Snare mic and 2 tom mics and 1 overhead mic, I am running it all thru a mackie 16 channel mixer, and am recording using Adobe Audition, and have done all this myself.

I am still very new to this whole recording thing and would love some advise from my good friends at here, the recording below is what I have come up with so far, it sounds pretty darn good on my nice home theater, but my computer it sounds a little distorted, but I am liking what I am hearing, and I am sure it can be better, I have added no effects or anything(mainly cause I don't know how yet), so please give me your imput on what else I should do, take away or whatever.

Please pay no attention to the drumming, there is no effort involved, I was just playing simply to get a sound, so the drumming basically sucks.

Anyway any help/advise would be much appreciated, thanks.

BTW it takes about 15 sec before I start anything, sorry.

http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/3/19/903073/My%20drums%2C%20My%20mix.mp3

• Members

!!

That's a 15 megabyte file!

Make a little smaller one? Especially for a 56 second file :p

The mix sounds great though!! Everythings nice and clear. Tell me your mic set up exactly, especially which overhead you're using.

• Members

ddrumbum,

You've got some nice gear there. Sounded to me like the main distortion was on your cymbals (china?) and just some tweaking on the gain/volume might help you there. Your large file took me about two minutes to upload - hahaha, but it's cool.

faileddrummer,

If you have a mixer and a computer, all you'll need is a recording program. Come out of your mixers left and right 1/4" outputs (unless your mixer has a "line out" or "monitor out" feature) into your computers "line in" stereo 1/8" jack. You'll need a y-cable that has two 1/4" male mono jacks into a 1/8" male stereo jack. You can order these from online stores like drumbalaya.