coping with hearing loss

• Members

I have posted this topic on other forums but this one probably has a greater % of live players, so may be more appropriate.

About 4 years ago I had my hearing checked, and found that I had a severe high frequency hearing loss. I was fitted for hearing aids, got out of playing keyboards in bands, and only played acoustic gigs. After about 2 yrs of that, I started wearing ear plugs and playing in bands again every now and then. Now I have to do it full time, until I can start a new acoustic gig in Feb.

I love playing with a band but have to use earplugs that block out about 20 db, otherwise I notice my hearing is muffled the next day. I really need to just quit all bands but I gig for a living and I don't want my truck repo'd or to live in a homeless shelter. I have to find another line of work.

Just wanted to know who else here has bad hearing, and how they cope with it, who has had to quit playing, etc. Anybody?

• Members

Sorry about your hearing loss. I lost a very small part of my high end when I worked in a plywood plant in my twenties. I then had a 20 year stint as a carpenter. I should have my ears checked again.

I do notice that I tend to turn up the high end a bit much when I EQ but other than that it's just the "HUHS" that bother me.

I do play more acoustic style music now, although feeding back the system worries me. And I tend to do that more than I should.....Ciao

• Members

Originally posted by Blackwatch

Sorry about your hearing loss. I lost a very small part of my high end when I worked in a plywood plant in my twenties. I then had a 20 year stint as a carpenter. I should have my ears checked again.

I do notice that I tend to turn up the high end a bit much when I EQ but other than that it's just the "HUHS" that bother me.

I do play more acoustic style music now, although feeding back the system worries me. And I tend to do that more than I should.....Ciao

+1