Question

fuzzball

• Members

I have sent in my form to get my new CD copyrighted, can I go ahead and put the CD on CD baby now or should I wait until I get the proof that it is copyrighted first. I have copyrighted stuff before so I don't think I will have any issues, but I have never tried to release a CD before the form had come back.

• Members

If you've done it before then you know it can take up to 6 months before you get your forms back.

If memory serves I am pretty sure you can put a "c" without it being circled to signify the copyright is pending. You are supposed to only use the circled c after the copyright is registered.

It should be OK, I don't think it's necessary to hold things up for a number of months.

• Members

Originally posted by Scheming Demon

If you've done it before then you know it can take up to 6 months before you get your forms back.

If memory serves I am pretty sure you can put a "c" without it being circled to signify the copyright is pending. You are supposed to only use the circled c after the copyright is registered.

It should be OK, I don't think it's necessary to hold things up for a number of months.

Not true. A work is copyrighted the moment it is made into a hard copy form. Registering it only makes an official record of the copyright which aready exists.

"HOW TO SECURE A COPYRIGHT

Copyright Secured Automatically upon Creation

The way in which copyright protection is secured is frequently misunderstood. No publication or registration or other action in the Copyright Office is required to secure copyright. (See following Note.) There are, however, certain definite advantages to registration. See "Copyright Registration."