I Need A Swing Teacher...

GCR

• Members

You took all the fun out of this thread:lol::poke:
:lol:

I know... but I knew right where it would go w/ this group. ;)

Seriously though... I'm a good drummer, been at this a long time... just can't seem to wrap my head around swing (rock drummer too long, I guess). I learn much better 3 dimensionally.

• Members

OK, you get two chains attached to a cross section of pipe, held up by an A frame pipe buried in concrete for stability. You can use a leather strap as a seat or possible a drilled 2x4.

Oh sorry, you were talking about a porch swing. OK first you build yourself a pipe cage harness strong enough for.....huh...what...oh...sorry. Somebody let me out of the cage for a couple of hours...

OK...what would you like to know, combo, big band, what? Punching a band, feel...what? Feel free to ask away. I will help if I can...

• Members

Step one you can do on your own. We rock drummers think in terms of eighth notes (1 & 2 & 3 & 4 &). You can do that with your right hand all day long without thinking about it. Next you throw in the one and 3 on the kick and the 2 and 4 on the snare. Time to put that away for a while.

Start thinking in terms of 1 2-ah 3 4-ah with your right hand. Do it over and over and over until it's just as easy as 1 & 2 & 3 & 4 & was. Now forget everything you know about "backbeat." There is very little, if any, 2-4 snare in swing. Just keep that right hand going and close the hi-hat with your left foot on 2 and 4.

Now you're playing basic swing.

After you get that rolling the left hand and kick are about punching the accents.

Pick up some listening.

And here's a MAJOR favor you can do for yourself. Go to http://www.berklee.edu/admissions/general/drums_and_percussion_playalong.html?transposition=Concert&instrument=Drums. Click on "Vamps" and then "Jazz Vamps". Play along to those.

• Members