Cymbal packs legit?

lalapancakes

• Members

Okay so I posted here recently about getting a whole new drumset/cymbals but then everyone convinced me to just focus on cymbals first (implus my drumset is good anyway). So I've decided to upgrade from my terrible Sabian B8 cymbals.

My dad is going to pay for a majority of it because he promised me as a little child if I stuck to playing my drums he would buy me better cymbals. So I took his word and told him that he has to get to me new cymbals (lol I'm a spoiled brat).

Firstly I wanna ask one thing first. I have an AA metal-x sabian china cymbal. I think it's the only cymbal I have that's fine. Do you think I should upgrade that to or is it fine? I mean it's a 200$ cymbal and I think it sounds good the way it is.

Next I was wondering I actually do want to get decent cymbals. I've been playing for about 8 years now so I'm not a newb (we'll for my age I'm not, but some have you here have been playing for 20+ years). I'm going to go out and try cymbals at a local guitar center soon but before I do I want to get a ballpark range of how much this is going to cost. And I noticed buying cymbals in packs is way less expensive. But my question is, should I stay away from packs, or are some packs legit?

EDIT: All great posts. I forgot to post what type of music I play. I play Rush a lot and I play jazz to. I'm not really into "bashing" the cymbals, honestly I can't stand drummers who do that. I'm not into metal (except proggressive metal like dream theater or Between the buried and me) or punk either at all.

I got a B8 cymbal pack as my first cymbals and it was around 150$ I think. So I know to get a decent pack it's probably going to be atleast maybe 300? I don't exactly know what do you guys think? What's your experience with cymbal packs yay or nay?

• Members