SWR is Fender is SWR is Fender????

Nightsynth

• Members

Hey, I usually post over at the Keyboard room, but I'm also a bassist. I heard recently that Fender bought SWR. I was talking to a bass player about his 1x15 Son Of Bertha cabinet to see how he liked it as opposed to the 4x10. He said it was great until recently when he had it reconed at the factory and the new cone doesn't sound as good. Has anyone else experienced this?

I'm curious because I'm going to be buying an SWR rig this year sometime. I'm going to buy used, but I wanted to find out if and when this buyout happened and if it really isn't as good as it used to be.

FYI, I want to get a 550x head and a 4x10 Goliath III. I might also want to add a 1x15 at some point. Why do some cabs have 2 neutrix connectors and some only have 1? I've been playing through a Peavey combo amp for many many years now and it's always worked fine, but I thought it would be cool to get into the 21st century and get a real rig. I used an older 350 (red) head and a Goliath III cab at a gig a while back and since then have lusted for this setup. I've always just spent too much of my money on keyboard/recording gear so I haven't ever upgraded. I don't play out alot either. But I really want to get this setup.

Any thoughts on the Fender SWR topic?

• Members

Okay here the deal,

Most people assume there are two "eras" of SWR, pre-fender and post fender. And that anything "pre-fender" was the "real" SWR. This is not so!

The one era that no one seems to talk about is SWR ENGINEERING. It was during this era that I bleive SWR was at it's peak. After the founder, Steve Rabe left the company, SWR Engineering changed it's name to SWR SOUND. This is the point where things slowly started going down hill. And this was well before the Fender buyout.

That being said I would look for an SWR Engineering Amp and I look for a pre fender cabnet.

Hope this helps.

• Members

Thing is, even brand-new SWR stuff sounds FANTASTIC!