It has been almost a year....

el_duderino676

• Members

Ok, let me clarify in case people didn't understand me. I started playing bass full time about a year ago, but a little over two years ago is when I first got a bass, but I was more focused on trumpet then. Only a year ago, I gave up trumpet and started focusing on bass. Best decision ever.

• Members

Originally posted by el_duderino676

...since I went to bass full time. I wouldn't have thought about it, but it just popped into my mind as I was practicing some chordish stuff. I am so glad that I gave up trumpet for the low end.
:D

That is all.

Bassist for about 4 years serious, 7 total.

But, why the hell would you give up trumpet? I've been playing trumpet longer than bass, and I ASSURE you, the sense of melody you get from learning a little trumpet (or sax or any horn really) will translate DIRECTLY to your bass playing. It will also help on your soloing if you know how to phrase like a horn player-something many bass players fail to do which could add a lot to their playing.

• Members

Originally posted by sunburstbasser

But, why the hell would you give up trumpet? I've been playing trumpet longer than bass, and I ASSURE you, the sense of melody you get from learning a little trumpet (or sax or any horn really) will translate DIRECTLY to your bass playing. It will also help on your soloing if you know how to phrase like a horn player-something many bass players fail to do which could add a lot to their playing.

I vaguely remember reading that Jeff Berlin would transcribe and study saxophone parts to improve his bass playing, and the first time I heard him I thought that he had a very melodic style.

• Members

Ok, the main readon that I quit trumpet was because I grew tired of it and it wasn't fun anymore.

• Members

Originally posted by el_duderino676

Ok, the main readon that I quit trumpet was because I grew tired of it and it wasn't fun anymore.