Beginner soldering - what's the worst that could happen?

tdempsey

• Members

Hi!

Never done this before but the wires in my Warwick Thumb control cavity have broken off the solder contact.

I have very little solder experience - but I'm kind of in a bind because I procrastinated and now I have a likely audition Thursday and I'll want my Warwick - my main axe - to be the one they see (and hear) first.

What's the worst that could happen if I botch this?

• Members

The worst that could happen is a 'dry joint' which can lower conductance and fail prematurely. Make sure that the wire doesn't move (at all) while the solder is cooling and be careful not to overheat the component that you're soldering the wire to.

• Members

Basic rule. Don't heat the solder, heat the metal that you want the solder to go onto. It will be much cleaner. Nothing bad can happen becasuse solder can always be re-done. I guess the worst would be a bad connection that will affect your tone.

• Members

You could burn up your bass and/or burn down your house?:D

Seriously... it's not all that hard. If you're a complete beginner I'd practice on some scrap wires first. The hardest part (assuming you know where all the wires go) is wiring ground wires to the bodies of pots IMHO... I have a special extra-hot iron I use for this.

A very, very helpful thing is if you can have someone or something hold the wires in place for you. If they move while cooling it severely compromises your soldering joint. you can get by if you make such a good mechanical connection, but often times the heat causes the wires to move. I have a special little moveable arm thingy with two clamps, works great. A friend will do in a pinch.