From guitar to bass ... equipment hints?

snakum

• Members

I've been playing guitar off and on for twenty-five years, including a few stints on bass just to make a little money. But I'm finding I want to really dive into bass for a while, and I have narrowed down my equipment selections and was wondering what you guys thought:

Peavey Grind 4-string or Indonesian Millenium BPX4

SWR LA12 combo

DigiTech Bad Monkey (sounded surprisingly awesome as an EQ/clean boost with a bass guitar)

DigiTech Delay set to a low slap-back

Is this a decent setup to get started? I anticipate playing the odd fill-in gig (mic'd) and the 1x12 SWR combo seemed loud enough to me, but I don't really know a lot about most recent lower-end equipment lines.

Any other suggestions for a four-string/combo amp in the $600 range?

How's the Behringer bass combos? Decent? Reliability issues?

Thanks! :wave:

• Members

Firstly, I usually run my bass direct instead of using a mic, it's just a lot easier that way. And if you're going to be gigging, I'd get something with a little more umph. It'd make a pretty nice practice amp but 60w through a single 12 is going to suffer big time in rehearsal situations. Since there's a good chance that you're not always going to have PA support, I'd go with a minimum of 210's or 115. Check out the Yorkville stuff, (XM200/200T) haven't played through them but there are a few forumites here who swear by them.

• Members

If I buy the Peavey (Indo) Millenium four-string, I'd be able to afford an SWR LA15, Peavey Max115, GK Backline 112. Would that be better, to start? If I were gigging regularly I'd add a second amp of the same kind and run two out of the DigiDelay, just as I do with my Classic 30s.

The only amp I've ever used for bass was an old Peavey Mace 2x12 with Black Widows, a killer bass amp with a Boss EQ pedal in the chain, and it was loud enough to kill any small mammals that wandered in front of the thing. :D

• Members