OT: Just curious, how many of us are in the skilled trades?

RoboChrist

• Members

I have my diploma for Mechanical Engineering - Automotive design, but i'm also taking an Apprenticeship for Industrial Machinery repair (forklifts and such)

Ive been working for this company since i was in high school, and when i graduated college they offered me a full time job for some decent money and offered an apprenticeship as an incentive.

just think... theres not to many MEs out there with the field experience to work on the stuff they design... if im not happy with what im doing down the road, it wouldnt be hard to find another job with that sort of credentials.

• Members

You can always tell who is in the trades... they always have the nicest gear!!

I'm not kidding.

I play bass for a living and barely make it, actually I usually don't make it!... I know cats who work thier asses off doing Floors, Drywall, Painting, you name it and they all have unbelieveable gear... guitarists or bassists.

Good pay, good gear, good folks.

Much Respect,

• Members

I build hydrostatic motors/pumps/transmissions for farm/construction/industrial machinery(tractors, combines, bulldozers, forklifts, skidloaders, etc). Right now, I'm temporarily working at one of our suppliers machining parts on a lathe(not much to that though). Pays decent. Once I'm through with my debt(car and remnants of college debt), I'll have more money for GAS, heh.

• Members

I managed to complete my B.A. a couple of years back and now I'm studying for my B. Ed. (teacher's college). But before this I was a scenic artist and set painter. The kicker with that gig is that film work is so sporadic and when production dried up I went to work as a house painter. It's a gig I really enjoyed and it paid the bills. It's good to have a trade. I'm going to convince my daughter to get one so she doesn'thave to be a wage slave or wait tables.

• Members