drumcomputers?

sg-z

• Members

I would like to play along with some drumbeats,... but I don't have any clue where to start. Which do you use?

Now I found two products in my price range

-alesis sr 16

-yamaha clickstation CLST 100

anyone experience with these?

I'm really new to these products, so maybe I gonna ask some stupid questions, anyway here I go,

can they do different timings, like 7/8, 5/4,...?

MIDI, what's the use?

• Members

I picked up a Zoom MRT3,
, for $95 + tax locally. They're about $100 new on a lot of web stores. I'm pretty happy with it as a starter unit. It's got a lot of capability.

I don't know a {censored} about this, so maybe a stupid question...

-can you play in any timing you want, eg. 7/8 ? So you can put it together yourself, right?

• Members

-can you play in any timing you want, eg. 7/8 ? So you can put it together yourself, right?

the alesis can do odd-meter, but its a little tricky and sometimes you have to compromise.

• Members

Are those outputs I see on top? 8 instruments, each with their own, I assume?

That looks very tasty. Having something like that would probably break me of the habit of sequencing
everything
, and actually play some music some day... what a concept.

Hey Steve!

The Machine Drum is very cool. I think the machine has quite a bit of polyphony actually. You can just assign different instruments to different outputs if you want. What you see on the top is two main outputs, four other auxiliary outs, and two inputs. (Also a headphone jack.) This is king of the drum machines. I'll have one sequencing my drums eventually... :)

• Members
Hey Steve!