OT: Would you consider moving back in with your parent(s)?

Zeromus-X

• Members

Random off-topic from me, but I've been trying to decide on a few things lately and hell, you guys are as good as any, I suppose. Very long so anyone who makes it through, I appreciate it!

I'm 25, done with school, make enough to survive on my own. I've been working my same job for nine years now (computer tech). I've hesitated to find anything "better" (or even anything that would actually use my degree) simply because I've been able to survive where I'm at, and I'm a complacent son of a bitch.

Lately I've been getting the urge to try something new. I figure I need to decide what I want to do, and I need to make that decision before I'm locked into a job with a house and kids. I've constantly thought about moving somewhere on the other side of the US; I'm near Va Beach on the East coast right now, and every time I've been out there, I've loved it. I spent a few weeks in Flagstaff, AZ, a few days in Phoenix, and a couple weeks in Vegas, and the weather is great, the housing market and job market seems great, etc. It's a hell of a move, because all my family/etc is here and in New York... quite a ways away from Arizona/Nevada!

With my current situation, I live paycheck to paycheck, but I live, and I tend to be able to afford things I shouldn't. In order to move, I'm sure I'm going to need at least $4,000-$6,000 saved up (post-trip money) from the research I've done online. That covers me for a place to stay while trying to find a job, and as a worst case, covers me for getting home if it doesn't work out. I'm also becoming increasingly unhappy about my current residence; nothing but problems lately. Water damage at the bottom of the walls near the floor, cracked bathtub, floor is actually non-existant in one place. Expensive things that insurance won't cover.