guitarist looking for a bass amp

FenderStrum

• Members

hi guys,

i am actually a guitarist for my indie band. i also play guitar and bass for church. we use a 50 watt yorkville bass combo, so i don't need to bring a bass amp to church. i guess i am just looking for a decent bass amp to play at home. i may invite friends over to play at my house, but they will either be on guitar and/or piano or vice versa. there won't be drums at my house since i don't have a drum set so i don't think i'll need to compete with a drummer.

my budget is under 250cad. i know, it's a pretty tight budget, but i have seen a few good items on my local craigslist and want to make a purchase soon before school starts. there is a roland bass cube 30 with built in effects, peavey basic 60, marshall b65 (65 watts), and a yorkville xm100 or 200 (100 and 200 watts respectively).

should i buy an amp with the most watts? i actually fancy the roland bass cube a lot as it is portable and has effects i can fool around with. i'm not sure if i'll be gigging with a bass amp, aside from playing for church and even still i have a bass amp to use at church. is there a difference between 30 watts and 60-65 watts?

• Moderators

It sounds like you are looking at good stuff. In that range I'd personally look for something at least 25-30 watts up to 100 watts with the features you need/want. There is not a lot of difference between 30 and 60 watts. There is some difference between 30 and 150. There is a big difference between 30 and 300.

• Members

yeah, i don't think i'll want a 200 watt bass combo. something light is preferable. besides, my actual bassist in the band is actually using a 100 watt yorkville and we can hear him just fine.

i think i'd want a bass amp that can be heard over an acoustic piano and possible a guitar or something. 30 watts should do it right? think of it as an acoustic set.

how about between the roland cube 30 and the marshall b65? which is more reliable?

• Members