Any of you bass players also play drums?

Groove Tool

• Members

I have been playing bass for 27 years and I decided to pick up an electronic drum kit two years ago and give it a shot. I couldn't hold down a beat for a while, but after buying a double kick pedal, it all seemed to fall into place. I really dig playing drums and feel like it has helped my bass playing. I am wondering if any of you have done the same? Thanks.

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

I have been playing bass for 27 years and I decided to pick up an electronic drum kit two years ago and give it a shot. I couldn't hold down a beat for a while, but after buying a double kick pedal, it all seemed to fall into place. I really dig playing drums and feel like it has helped my bass playing. I am wondering if any of you have done the same? Thanks.

I started off with drums and gravitated towards bass. I think they do compliment and improve your feel for rythm for sure.

Dan

• Members

Playing any instrument helps in playing any other instrument.

I've heard playing drums can really help your bass playing. I don't see the connection though.

First, it reinforces the language of music.

Second, there's the that's what I wanna hear factor. As a bassist, I'm sure you've spent some of your playing time saying "I wish the drummer would..." well, here's your chance to practice being the drummer you wish you had! Conversely, as a drummer you might say "I wish the bassist would..." and then go practice those avenues of playing on bass. You develop an understanding of arrangements that might have been lacking when all you cared about was that low-frequency trance.

Third, it makes you more versatile. You can sit in with folks where you otherwise might not fit in.

• Members

I've done a couple of gigs as a drummer, but I am absolutely not a real drummer. I can keep a very steady beat and add a few fills, but I'm kind-of a no frills drummer, as a drummer.