replacement speaker

samson3382

• Members

noob here. I have an older SWR 1X15 8 ohms 200 watts. im getting a genz benz GBE 1200 soon and i was considering getting a replacement 15 inch speaker for the SWR cab to run in combination with either a 2X10 or 4X10. I was looking at the Kappalite 3015 LF, BEYMA 15G40, CIARE 15NDH-4, things of that nature. Is that SWR cab worth it? Will it work or more importantly sound good?:wave:

• Members

OK so i did my best to get the internal dimensions of the SWR cab. 16.75 deep X 21 wide X 18.5 tall. came up with 3.76584 cubic feet. sounds about right. The port is a slot the width of the cab below the speaker, 21 X 2. 42 square inches, or .0291666 square ft.

• Members

3.7 sounds like the outside dimensions. In that case the internal dimensions are probably closer to 2.8 or 3.0ish.

While the tuning is probably a bit low I'd think at that volume a Kappalite 3015 would be better than a 3015LF.

• Members

thanks a bunch for the help BTW. is a there 4 ohm options available? as i am getting the genz benz GBE1200 soon and it goes down to two ohms, (1000@4, 1200@2) i was hoping to find a 4 ohm speaker. but would I even notice the 100 watt difference? can't imagine i would. if I went with an 8 ohm 15, would my other cab have to be 8 ohms? this amp has an ohm setting switch, would it be safe/recomended to run it @ 2.66 ohms in the 2 ohm setting? sorry lots of ?s there

• Members

You don't want to use a 4 ohm speaker in that box with 1000 watts. You will run out of X-max, even with the internal HPF on the GBE-1200 and risk damaging the speaker from exceeding it's mechanical limits.

If you were to be stuck with a 4 ohm single 15 speaker, I would recommend running the amp in the 2 ohm position which reduces the 4 ohm rating to roughly 750 watts which would be safer but still runs the risk of exceeding Xmax by quite a margin at say 35 Hz.

• Members