Ruptured eardrum

ec437

• Members

I blew my left eardrum out while scuba diving about 20 years ago. I had a cold, was stuffed up and took a cold pill before diving. Stupid!!! After taking the pill I couldn't equalize and at about 36 feet jdown I felt it pop!!

It became infected. They put me on antibiotics, oral and ear drops, but didn't do anything else about the popped eardrum. It just healed up on its own.

Every year I get at least one ear infection in it, especially during the change of seasons from summer to fall.............don't know why.

Things may be different for you. I'm not a doctor. I'm just telling you what happened to me.

• Members

I like the Mayo Clinic, they have saved my life a few times. They are the reason I lived in MN as long as I did and the reason I moved to AZ when I did. I don't know much about the subject matter, but this is the first place I'd look:

Web MD, Mayo clinic, google, they're all good

A ruptured eardrum sounds painful:eek: how are you feeling?

• Members

Web MD, Mayo clinic, google, they're all good

A ruptured eardrum sounds painful:eek: how are you feeling?

It hurts like a bitch but not as bad as when it happened. The doc said it looked pretty bloody but it should start healing in a few days.

• Members

My eardrum ruptured once when some @sshole dip{censored} slapped me on my ear. Went to the doctors and he said the eardrum had a flap that was folded over, so he had to use some sort of tiny suction device to fold it back into place so it would heal correctly.

I can only remember the procedure hurt like HELL. Then I had to be careful not to get water into my ear for some time afterwards.

Shortly after, I went to a concert with some friends. We all wore earplugs. I amused them by holding my nose and blowing so my earplug popped out. :facepalm:

EDIT: Oh yeah. I was too drunk to go to the doctor's immediately, so I went the following day.

• Members