Suggest a decent bass and amp for a starter

DarkHorseJ27

• Members

I've played guitar for several years, I started learning on the electric. For the past few years I've played acoustic (mostly fingerstyle), and haven't looked back. I still like rock music, and while I'm not really interested in going back to electric, I'm finding the idea of playing bass pretty interesting.

What I'm looking for a decent bass and amp that I could learn on to see if bass is really for me or not. The genres I'm interested in for bass are classic rock, hard rock, and maybe metal. Thanks.

• Members

I suggest going to any local music shop and picking up a cheap used bass. That way you can try them out before you make a decision.

eBay is another option.

If you're going to buy new though, Ibanez makes decent starter basses for pretty cheap.

http://bass-guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Ibanez-GSR200-4String-Bass?sku=519524

• Members

I already said the types of music I'm interested in, I said its just for learning (so meaning no venues), my location says Iowa (that's in the U.S. by the way), and I didn't say budget because its not a concern. So what was your point in posting that link?

• Members

I already said the types of music I'm interested in, I said its just for learning (so meaning no venues), my location says Iowa (that's in the U.S. by the way), and I didn't say budget because its not a concern. So what was your point in posting that link?

Let's see:

1) to point out that there are at least 3-4 posts a week asking exactly the same thing that you did

2) to point out that you might want to take the time to peruse those posts instead of recycling the same {censored}

3) to point out the entire latter half of MY post, which makes the point that YOUR post is really an exercise in futility and stupidity. You will get no consensus.