How do you approach songs that originally have a female vocal...

BATCAT

• Moderators

...if you're a guy, that is? (Female forumites, please feel free to invert my question!)

I'm somewhat new to singing and this is a bit of a stumbling block for me. Approaches I've tried:

1. Try to actually sing the same notes as the actual song. (In my case, not pretty... unless it's a very low-voiced singer)

2. Sing an octave lower than the original. (Usually has me hitting the bottom of my range)

3. Same as #2, but capo UP so that I'm not singing a whole octave lower.

4. Keep the key the same, but sing a harmony to the original vocal.

What have YOU had luck with?

• Members

If it's one of those "there's one note that's out of reach" ... we'll play with the phrasing to avoid it provided the results are acceptable (we're not hung up with the idea that it's gotta be "note for note").

We transpose as necessary....and if we can't find a tranposed key that the singer can handle AND sounds OK in general....we move on to another tune. There's a million fish in the sea....song-ilistically speaking.

In the 20+ years I've worked with our guitarist - I've can't remember ever seeing him use a capo. For a couple of tunes that I play in different bands - and in different keys, I'll use the "keyboard capo" (aka transpose button) to avoid "what day is it? which band is this?" confusion.

• Moderators

If it's one of those "there's one note that's out of reach" ... we'll play with the phrasing to avoid it provided the results are acceptable (we're not hung up with the idea that it's gotta be "note for note").

We transpose as necessary....and if we can't find a tranposed key that the singer can handle AND sounds OK in general....we move on to another tune. There's a million fish in the sea....song-ilistically speaking.