warm sounding ss poweramp

• Members

i'm relatively new to the rackmount amp setup(been using tube heads for years) and im looking for a warm sounding solid state poweramp more than 250 watts per side. i'm using a mesa studio pre with a crown 402 and i know the terms "warm " and "solid state" arent usually used in the same sentence but i cant seem to find a tube poweramp that is gonna be loud enough or a solid state poweramp that is warm enough. am i just dreaming or is there an amp out there that i dont know about?

• Members

Originally posted by garfight

more than 250 watts per side. i'm using a mesa studio pre with a crown 402 and i know the terms "warm " and "solid state" arent usually used in the same sentence but i cant seem to find a tube poweramp that is gonna be loud enough or a solid state poweramp that is warm enough.

I'm sorry, but a tube power amp...even 50 watts per side, is more volume than ANYONE needs. I'm using a Mesa 2:90 (90 watt per side) and if I were to put it past the halfway point my ears would bleed...

• Members

Originally posted by Slave 2 the Axe

I'm sorry, but a tube power amp...even 50 watts per side, is more volume than ANYONE needs. I'm using a Mesa 2:90 (90 watt per side) and if I were to put it past the halfway point my ears would bleed...

Agreed.

If you can't get loud enough with 50w a side than your hooking something up wrong or setting something wrong, and your not getting the full wattage.

Same with SS. 100w a side should be plenty.

I currently use a Peavey 50/50 tube power amp. It's plenty loud.

I'm going up against a bass, key, vocals, and drums. I have no problems hearing myself. I use it with a Rocktron Piranha preamp

My fav SS power amp was the Crate SPA200. 100w a side.

Designed for guitar.

Has a dampening switch that gives you a looser tube type tone.

Used it for years with my Rocktron progap preamp. Used it with the same band. Plenty, plenty loud.