Peavey Tubefex

• Members

It is by far the best MIDI preamp I've played. Tone wise I prefer it over the Hughes&Kettner Access and the Rocktron Piranha. Sounds are very similar to the Peavey Rock Master, which I love, very organic with an infinite number of tone shaping options. The efx aren't great but very useable.

I must sound like a Peavey shill talking about how great their gear is recently.

Jun

• Members

I've been interested in these units for sooooo long. This and also the Transfex preamp and head. Never got to play one.I've heard this unit is very good but also hear it doesnt quite equal a Rock Master. What do you think?

I have a Piranha and am not 100% happy with it. I prefer my Peavey XXL over it for both cleans and distortion.

I have a FJA modded Rock Master on its way.

• Members

I love the Rock Master tone so much I got rid of the Access and Piranha. The routing is outrageous on the Access but the tone just wasn't as inspiring. The Piranha was too processed sounding esp. the flashing gain channel.

Think of the Tubefex as a programmable Rock Master with infinite tone options.

Make sure if you get a Tubefex IMMEDIATELY get the battery less memory chip. Battery leakage has caused many units, including mine, to fail.

I have been interested in the Jerry P Rock Master, now that I have found a MIDI preamp I'm happy with I might have to get that mod.

Jun

• Members

The Peavey Tubefex is the best MIDI preamp period. The tone is very inspiring to play but the best part is the signal splitter and programmable efx loop. You can insert these anywhere in the signal chain.

Last night I took a dry signal, right after the tube preamp, to a Carvin Legacy half stack while the main outs were connected to two Mesa Thiels for the wets. The beauty is that the dry signal can have effcts added depending on where I insert the loop.

I don't need a Sound Sculpture Switchblade to run stereo, wet/dry, W/D/W or mono. Truly amazing that this is close to 10 years old.