rack so far

• Members

hi guys , heres a pic , of my rack so far , i'm struggling a bit with trying to get a decent sound , i know its old gear but its all i can afford at the minute , what else would you suggest i do / add to what i already have , (please don't say add it to the bin haha )

• Members

There's plenty of love around here for the Digitech so I doubt that is the weak link in the chain.

The Starfield I have no knowledge of but I should imagine as a valve preamp it's unlikely to be inherently bad even if it's not great, can't say to be honest.

The Studiomaster is a PA amp rather than a dedicated guitar power amp and thus is voiced differently and this is likely to be problem most of all. Changing that would probably give the Digitech and Starfield a better chance.

Good luck with it. :thu:

• Members

Yep that Studiomaster is a solid state amplifier right? Try your pres through a good tube power amp and see if that makes a difference.

And I hate to sound like a broken record, but if you ever decide you want to sell the Starfield pre please let me know. I have a bit of a soft spot in my heart for Starfield gear.

• Members

try running your sound without the starfield as the digitech is both a preamp and effects. give it a shot and see what you think. i run an upgraded 2112 basically a 2120 and i dont use a preamp with it.

i also changed the tubes and and it didnt impact my sound very much.

good luck

• Members

i know the power amp is crap , but i've just been thinking (dangerous for me) if i got a decent guitar power amp , what would happen if i then was to DI through the pa , because i would then be using p.a poweramps again would'nt i ?

• Members

try running your sound without the starfield as the digitech is both a preamp and effects. give it a shot and see what you think. i run an upgraded 2112 basically a 2120 and i dont use a preamp with it.

i also changed the tubes and and it didnt impact my sound very much.

good luck