First time with racks and midi

• Members

Hello there!!

I'm Alvaro from Chile and this is my first time writing in this forum, but I have some weeks reading.

I recently bought a Roland GP-100 and a Rocktron Intellifex (the original one). I also bought a Behringer FCB1010 (no ONE upgrade yet) to control both units.

I play since 20 years now (I'm 34 yo) but always with analog stompboxes. This is my first time trying to build a rack (its so addictive!!) and of course, my first time with MIDI.

So, my questions are:

1.-How can I connect the multieffects to my computer? I bought one of those cheap USB/MIDI cable (1 usb plug and 2 midi plug) and I tried everything to work with it. I always tried with 1 multieffect at a time, connecting 1 midi plug (IN or OUT) to the IN or OUT on the multieffect. I tried both MIDI plugs connected at the same time, and nothing. Of course I'm setting the multieffects units to recieve/send data asneeded, but it doesn't work! I'm thinking the problem is the cable. Any help with this? My idea is to edit patches in the PC and then send it to the Intellifex or GP-100. I'm using the Intellifex Editor for the Intellifex and a GP-100 SYSEX editor that is almost the only one that exist exclusive for the GP-100.

2.-What's the best way to build a rack? As I told you, I have just this 2 old units (Intellifex and GP-100) and I would like to learn more about what things helps to control them (I don't understand what the PatchMate Loop does) and what other units should I look for (not easy in Chile, but I could try to buy some international). How should I connect this 2 units? I have a DIY Vox AC30 made from a schematic from 1963.

Well, sorry my poor english and sorry for the big block.

Thanks and have fun!!!

• Members

Welcome Alvaro!