Rider friendly problems

ATOMICDOG1

• Members

Hi, I'm an audio guy, I have some experience with lighting , but I'm definitley not a squint by any means ;)

The question I have is this:

I have a pretty decent lighting rig for small local shows, but we have been doing more and more small national shows. My rig right now consists of four par 64 six bars with socopex, two ACL bars with four par 64 sized cans, two blinders with 10x 50w 12v pr16 bulbs in each, and one 6 bar with par 56 fixtures. I have a bunch of 2"x12"x12" square truss and good stands for the truss.

My biggest problem is that my dimmers and controller are not acceptable fo most of the national riders I get. I'm using three NSI NRD8000 dimmers and a NSI 7024 controller.

I need some suggestions for DMX dimmers and controllers that will pacify the nationals LD's and won't break my bank. Brands like American DJ and Chauvet are also not an option for a lot of these riders unfortunately.

Normally we just get a lighting company to do the lighting so that we don't have to deal with it, but there's been a few last minute gigs that a local venue has been throwing at us lately that the lighting company that we usually do buisness with couldn't do. We have been able to rent enough extra cans and stuff to meet the usual 60k rider specs, but I'd kind of like to have dimmers and a controller that is a little better, more compatible and more reliable than the NSI stuff.

Any ideas?

• Members

If you see yourself doing more and more of this type of lighting gig in the future, invest in an ETC board. The Expression or Obsession consoles will be happily accepted by most LD's.

The NSI dimmers are fine products and their new DS 12-24 is a very cost effective dimmer pack offering 12 circuits of 2.4Kw for around $ 2000.00.

One of the DS 12-24's and a couple of your NRD 8000's adapted to DMX will easily handle a 60+ K rider using an ETC front end.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
  • Members