Lighting Analogy To Guitar Effects Pedals?

GARY25302

• Members

Are there analogies in lighting which do to light what effect pedals do to sound? It seems that this would be a rich area for discussion and innovation. By looking at what each effect is doing to sound frequencies and applying that same type of circuit idea to visiable light frequencies perhaps some new and interesting lighting effects might come about. Frequency modulation would just be the begining of the possibilities. Anyone have ideas on this? I am new to lighting in general, so does this already exist?

• Members

No reasonable anology can be made imo. Most common guitar effects are prob compression/sustainer, overdrive or distortion and reverb. Often times guitar players will combine several effects for the desired end sound. The 3 mentioned with the addition of one or more of the following: chorus, phaser, string effect, detune, pitchshifter, echo or delay as one example. For the most part none of these can be conveyed by lighting effects except by ample at the moment imaginaton. O I suppose I could throw a rolling ocean aerial laser effect in combination with brokenbeam (dashline style) to accompany a guitar solo part useing tremelo & echo. But overall lighting effects are not meant to be done to one instrument. They in one way or another go with the whole of the music rather then individual ones. Along with useing various lighting effects for mood setting.

Imo youd be further ahead by something like exploring how different colors have a psychological effect. Or how clockwise or counterclockwise rotations of geometric lighting effects such as gabos or geoetric lasers might suggest something or other. Of course in diff cultures you might find totally diff common person correspondences given for this or that color or pattern.