I'm havin some problems recording drums

• Members

I'm a complete newbie to recording. My uncle bought a boss 8 track digital recorder. He's doin a project and wanted me to do some guitar and drums for it. The guitar went completly smothly. The drums however, were havin a little trouble. we have 4 drum mics (yes, propar drum mics) set up through a mixer. Everything is fine except for the god damn bass drum. We can't get it to sound right. It's too nasal. We tried backing down the treble and mids, and still, no luck. any help would be appreciated

• Members

Originally posted by Stewman_86

We can't get it to sound right. It's too nasal. We tried backing down the treble and mids, and still, no luck. any help would be appreciated

What kind of mic do you have on the kick drum? How far away do you have it from the head?

i have always put the mic about 3" away from the drum and it gets a good sound.

• Members

You might also check the recording forum on this question if you haven't.

Other than that, here are some basic things to consider:

1.) the drum itself. Is the drum well tuned and maintained, and does it sound good on its own? Take a look at the heads, if they're all beat to hell, it might be a sign that the drummer doesn't give a rat's @55 about his kit. As they say, garbage in, garbage out....you can't polish a turd....etc.

2.) Next stop, the mic. If it says "kick/tom" on it, at least you're in the right zone. The problem is, there are plenty of crappy drum mics being manufactured these days (i.e. Nady, etc.). While you might be able to get away with some of these cheap mics in a live situation, their shortcomings become much more obvious under the microscope of recording.