basics: balancing a signal

• Members

as you've probably discovered by now, im studying "audio technology", and we're doing a bunch of fun stuff like basic electronics, and math for acoustics (dB and such). so i've got the little knowledge enough to make it a dangerous thing, but that doesnt stop me from asking questions!

i have a shure BG1.0 dynamic mic that i took into the electronics lab to use for testing purposes (we're building a mic preamp - not really designing it as such, but more like translating a circuit diagram into a veroboard layout and actually soldering stuff etc). just to make sure, i checked the outputs of the mic on the oscilloscope, expecting to see pins 2 and 3 to give me similar signals but in opposite polarity.

instead, i got pin 2 giving me the expected wavy line thing, but pin 3 gave me just a lower-level version of the same signal, NOT inverted. so it was basically like pin 3 was a padded version of pin 2.

here's the two possibilities i've come up with so far:

- could be a faulty microphone. FWIW, i pulled the bottom out and made sure the wires etc. were done up right, couldnt see any obvious fault. pin 1 was definitely ground.

- is this what "impedance balanced" means? like, instead of true out of phase signals, the (-) is actually just the same as the (+) but in-line with some kind of resistance?

any suggestions/ideas/explanations?

i apologize for all the questions. it's just that im excited about studying something i actually have a passion for, and so i want to milk it as much as i can.

thanks a lot!

AS

• Members

Abhi, this is a great question... which needs more than a simple answer. (Did you expect less;) )

Ok, I'll bet that you referenced your ground to pin 1 which is called "ground". The problem with this is that on most microphones (dynamic at least) this pin is totally floating and only connected to the mic housing, allowing the shield to extend from the mic cable to the mic housing and grill to shield the element.