help me choose a snake, please

• Members

This is my second ever post. My wife says I have around $300 to spend (I think it's more, but I've been wrong before); bottom line is; I need a 100' 16X4 snake and want to get the best bang for my buck.

I have a Mackie 1642 VLZ PRO and two SR1530s for mains, with two SRM450's for monitors. Mostly this is used for bluegrass and folky type presentations.

For suggestions I would like: #1 - QUALITY, #2 BEST PRICE.

Thank you in advance for your responses.

• Members

I would recommend a Carvin reel snake. They run around $400.00 if memory serves, but the convience of a reel is incredible. Check it out and see what you think. I have been using mine for 2 years now and have no regrets...... it is the ONLY piece of Carvin gear I own.

• Members

I was just recently at audiopile's website, and he has reel snakes as well. I know his stuff is good and he's a great person to deal with and will take care of any problems or questions you may have. I'm not saying that the carvin stuff is bad, but customer service with Mark and Liz is some of the best around. and that is hard to come by these days, except for some good folks here on this forum. There are other brands of snakes out there that are very reputable, but i can't think of them at the moment. I'm sure someone else will suggest other snake companies to look at too.

Chad:cool:

• Members

I would like to thank each and every one of you for responding, and also those who may still respond. What great information! I tried to check out Audiophile's website but was unsuccessful, I emailed him though, so hopefully I can contact him in the near future. All of the advice really opened up some avenues that I had no knowledge of and I really appreciate your help. What a great resource this is, someday maybe I can contribute something that may be of use to someone.

Thank all of you again,

Stickbuddy

• Members