sticking speaker, dead or not??

• Members

Hi. situation first, actual question about 4 paragraphs down.

I few years ago i bought a big 2x15" cabinet, no horns I think it was meant as a sub cabinet in an install. It has a pair of unknown speakers in it - nessel.

Now, When I got this it worked. I was a PA newbie and I wasn't sure how many ohms the speakers were (I haven't checked but I think the cabinet may be 2 ohms).

I ran it with an amp which went DC on me (I have since stopped using that amp - I've had it fixed twice). I thought the speakers were dead and basically put it in a corner for 4 years.

Fast forward to today. Gave it the battery test, one speaker worked, one didn't. Felt the cone of the other speaker and it appeared to be jammed, pushed slightly and it freed up.

Ran it with a cheap stereo amp then a proper PA amp - it all seems to be working now. No obvious distortion, both speakers seem to be reacting the same way.

Is the speaker that was sticking a ticking time bomb? What caused it to stick and will it happen again - is it worth the risk?? I am looking at selling this cabinet and don't want to leave someone with a heap of junk.

Thanks

• Members

No way of knowing what happened... I suspect the VC jumped the gap and it's now back in but sometimes there's damage that you can't see until down the road.

As a shop, we just recone these since it's not worth the risk of failure knowing the type of damage that can happen.

For a casual user, it may not be a problem.

• Members

Originally posted by agedhorse

No way of knowing what happened... I suspect the VC jumped the gap and it's now back in but sometimes there's damage that you can't see until down the road.

As a shop, we just recone these since it's not worth the risk of failure knowing the type of damage that can happen.

For a casual user, it may not be a problem.