Why do I hate my own voice?

mddanial100

• Members

Well, I had a long holiday so I decided to give singing a go. When I record myself singing and playback the audio, there is always this weird feeling of dissatisfaction. To be honest I think my singing is very averagely-like. I was thinking if you guys out there can critique my singing (much appreciated smile.png ) and probably well I just wanna know if any of you singers out there actually hate the sound of your own voice. Hehe have fun. Oh and I would also be willing to check out like videos that can help me out lol hahas. https://soundcloud.com/itsdadanial/dunnowhyihatemyvoice

• Members

Hi there

I thought I'd try and help out, I'm a singing teacher and I listened to your recording. Ok, so you can sing for sure, but you need to sing a song in a lower key to start out with, before you attempt the MB song. Also you are 'slightly' impersonating him (hope you don't mind me saying) this is ok in the beginning as you are finding out your 'sound' but you need to make sure you don't loose 'your own voice' as much as we love MB.

Don't feel disappointed with your vocals, they just haven't been 'used' as much as other people singing. People don't just wake up and become amazing, they have been singing most of their life and that's a LOT of practicing!

Two important things you need to do to instantly improve your sound:

1, open your mouth, exaggerate the words, some words with 'ooo' sounds are harder to do open, so the rules aren't set but usually ee's and ahh's are easier to sing 'Open'

2, Breath! Deep breaths use the air wisely, never sing on the end of a breath, always top up!

Any teacher or seasoned singer will tell you this!

Don't give up, keep practicing and be realistic with your progress

Lynsey

http://www.ltvox.com

• Members
Hi there