Off Topic, recording question

• Members

Wrong forum, but there so much expertise here I thought I'd ask.  Any help would be much appreciated.

I'm new to recording, but I want to record my guitar/bass duo. Maybe a single vocal.

We'd like to do it ourselves.

So, I understand that what I need is an audio interface that has 4 inputs (or 5 with vocals) and puts out four (or five) separate outputs.  Guitar and bass each direct and also each mic'ed, for a total of 4 inputs.

What I want to see in the software (on a Windows computer), afterwards, is four (or five) separate waveforms that I can cut, paste and or process.

First, does this make sense and second, what interface should I consider?

Thanks in advance,

Rick

• Moderators

agedhorse wrote:

Active DI takes care of any impedance issues but you need to be sure your interface will work with all of the levels you will be providing. Many are line level only.

Virtually all of the cheap 2-in interfaces have both mic/line inputs.

You tend to lose the mic ins and have just balanced +4 line ins on the higher end A/D stuff, which this guy doesn't have.

MG

• Members

agedhorse wrote:

The op was asking about multichannel interfaces, most do not have unbalanced inputs. Also, most 2 channel interfaces do not have high impedance (passive instrjment friendly) instrument inputs, just line level, approx 10k impedance.