Good entry level keyboard?

• Members

I've been a classical pianist for years, and i'm only now branching out into the seemingly frightening world of synths and electronics. I would appreciate any guidance you can give me concerning a good entry level keyboard.

I've spent 10+ years playing only acoustic pianos. Also, i'm a student and therefore funds are rather limited. So it has to be affordable (cheap) but also of a decent quality. I'd say $300 tops, if it can be done.

Thanks in advace for any replies.

• Members

Yikes....

I'm guessing you're looking for weighted keys?

I doubt you'll find anything you like anywhere near that price. There is a Casio with "hammer-action keys" - the Previa, I think, that sells for about $450. It's sold at more consumer-level stores and Sam's Club. It's not much, but it's kind of in your price range. You might be able to find a used Yamaha P-80 for $650 or so - nice, solid action, passably good sound (needs an amplifier). You might find an older Ensoniq keyboard with weighted keys (they made a few models with adequate action, and (for the time) not bad piano samples. There may be some older used keyboards out there that I can't think of right now - but maybe someone else can.

Your options are a little better with "synth-weighted" keys - like a used Roland XP-10, or Yamaha S-03.

Good luck!

• Members

I agree with Casio portable digital pianos. You can get an open box item for around 350 on line. This maybe the best thing closer to real piano feel. Sounds are not that bad but not very high quality though. Suzuki digital pianos are less expensive too. The other digital pianos maybe out of your budget range.

Try used better digital pianos too.(like yamaha , Roland, Kawai,etc.) Check local and nearby area newspaper. I found an auction for only 3 yrs old great condition Yamaha Clavinova CVP digital piano on ebay for 500 simply because owner will only do local pickup deal.